Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (4) - DVDs (1) - Books (5)

Grown Ups 2 review

Posted : 3 years, 5 months ago on 17 June 2014 05:24 (A review of Grown Ups 2)

Adam Sandler used to make funny movies. Then he started making movies that I have NO interest in seeing (Jack and Jill, That's My Boy, and You Don't Mess with the Zohan).

Since I actually liked the first Grown Ups, I thought I would give the sequel a try. Unfortunately, it wasn't that funny and the story was all over the place. There were a few parts that made me laugh, but not enough to really like it that much.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Snow White and the Huntsman review

Posted : 5 years, 2 months ago on 19 September 2012 07:53 (A review of Snow White and the Huntsman)

Of the two Snow White movies released in 2012, I would highly recommend seeing Snow White and the Huntsman. Mirror Mirror wasn't a bad movie, but it wasn't nearly as good as this one. In my opinion, Charlize Theron plays a much more interesting (and terrifying) evil queen than does Julia Roberts.

When I heard that Kristen Stewart would be playing Snow White, my first thought was that she would ruin the movie. Fortunately, I have to admit that I thought she did a good job with her role without being annoying or distracting.

Chris Hemsworth played the role of the Huntsman perfectly. He was very believable and likable.

The special effects were very good. The overall look and feel of the movie was outstanding. The set designs and costumes were all done with the greatest attention to detail. All of this helped to draw the audience into the story. I also felt that the script was very well written and the movie was well directed.

The one minor complaint that I had was the role of Wiliam, Snow White's childhood friend. He was a little bit of a distraction and could have been left out of the story, but that is only a minor complaint.

Snow White and the Huntsman is an excellent movie that I highly recommend!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Princess Bride (Ballantine Reader's Circle) review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 18 August 2012 08:20 (A review of The Princess Bride (Ballantine Reader's Circle))

I first saw the movie in 1988, when I was a senior in high school. Ever since then it has been one of my favorite movies.

Now that I've read The Princess Bride, I must say that it is one of my favorite books! I can't believe that I never took the time to read it until now, but I'm glad that I did.

William Goldman did an incredible job in writing an unforgettable story filled with great characters. The whole "abridgment" of a classic novel idea was pure genius. The fact that he tricked so many people, including me(at first),into believing that S. Morgenstern really did write the original story, is testament to Goldman's skill as a writer.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Abortion and the Conscience of the Nation (New edition/issue) review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 18 August 2012 08:17 (A review of Abortion and the Conscience of the Nation (New edition/issue))

"The real question today is not when human life begins, but, What is the value of human life?" Ronald Reagan

Well said, Mr. President, well said!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Speaker for the Dead review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 18 August 2012 08:15 (A review of Speaker for the Dead)

After reading Ender's Game (a classic sci-fi novel), Speaker of the Dead was really a disappointment.

The story really had potential but somehow it got lost in the process of the storytelling. That is not to say that Card is a bad writer. This book just didn't hold my interest or my imagination.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mr. Citizen. review

Posted : 5 years, 3 months ago on 18 August 2012 08:09 (A review of Mr. Citizen.)

In his book, Mr. Citizen, former President Harry S. Truman, describes what it was like to go from being the President of the United States to an ordinary citizen. After leaving Washington, D.C., he and his wife returned to their home in Independence, Missouri.

It was interesting reading this book because it gave some insight into a man that I've always admired from studying history. My wife and I live in Independence, and have visited his home and the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum.

I would recommend this book for people who enjoy learning about important historical figures and those who liked President Truman.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Bill Cosby: Himself review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 7 August 2012 06:47 (A review of Bill Cosby: Himself)

I grew up listening to Bill Cosby's records and watching The Cosby Show. He is still, to this day, one of my favorite comedians. This standup routine is hilarious. Each time that I watch it, I still laugh to the point that my sides hurt.

Bill Cosby's humor is so easy to relate to that he doesn't have to use offensive language to get his point across to the audience. A great comedian knows how to make people laugh because he knows and understands people. Cosby, in my opinion, is one of the best.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 4 August 2012 11:36 (A review of Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope)

"A long time ago in a galaxy far, far away..."

When I first went to the theater with my dad to see Star Wars, I had no idea how much of an impact it would have on my life or on movies themselves.

Every time that I see those words appear on the screen and hear the theme music by John Williams, it brings back those childhood memories. The secret to the success of Star Wars isn't just the great story, amazing special effects, a good cast, and so on. I believe it is the memories that it evokes.

As a kid, I became not only a huge Star Wars fan, but a movie fan as well. I love watching movies and collecting them. This was all because of Star Wars!

It changed how movies were made and marketed. Of course, there have been a lot of movies made, before and since, but none of them (in my opinion) has made such a difference in the movie industry and in pop culture as this movie has.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Huey Lewis & The News - Live at 25 review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 31 July 2012 05:57 (A review of Huey Lewis & The News - Live at 25)

My favorite band when I was growing up was Huey Lewis and the News. Their blend of rock and roll, rhythm and blues, great harmonies, and of course, Huey's lead vocals, became very popular. In 1985, two of their songs ("Power of Love" and "Back in Time") were featured in the hit movie Back to the Future. Huey even had a small cameo in the movie.

This DVD shows the band doing what they love to do, playing their music for their fans. It is 90 minutes of good clean fun.

Back in the late 80's, I saw them in concert twice and I loved it. They are a band that knows how to rock and have a good time. This video brought back some great memories of seeing them in concert.

For all fans of Huey Lewis and the News, I believe this is a must-see.



0 comments, Reply to this entry

Twilight review

Posted : 5 years, 4 months ago on 31 July 2012 01:08 (A review of Twilight)

OK, I admit it, curiosity got the better of me. My wife read the whole series and really loved it. When the movie came out, I thought I could kill two birds with one stone (so to speak): 1)I could be romantic and take her to see Twilight on opening day and 2)I could see exactly what the deal was with the story between Bella and Edward. The movie was OK, not great, but not completely bad either. After hearing from several people that the movie was totally different then the book, I finally gave in and read it. Without giving anything away, I did like the idea of the story. Bella and Edward were likeable characters, for the most part. The problem that I did have with the book was it left me wanting more to happen. This is after all a story about vampires. I was expecting more to that side of the story, so when it didn't happen, I was disappointed. I realize that there are more books in the series, but in order for a series to grab (and hold) my attention it needs to make me want to continue to the next book. It has to have enough in each book to justify me investing my time learning about the characters in the story. Twilight didn't do that for me.


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block